My kids..My World

1 min read

My name is Sonja.  I have (2) beautiful daughters, ages 6 and 9.

My first pregnancy went well with no complications.I am a non-smoker, non-drinker and not over weight. I use to run cross country and the 100 meters all across the province- so I was very fit.  I was disgnosed with PPCM within a week after my 2nd daughter was born.

At first they thought I had broken my tail bone, because I couldn't walk to the end of my drive way, which was about 15-20 feet.

That came back negitive. I was then sent to a Cardiologist who said that I must have smoked in my life and I caused this problem.

I was mad. I demanded a second opinion from another cardiologist.  Within a week, I was disagnosed with PPCM and told I had to do a number of tests and that I may not live past 6 months, if I do- I probably wouldn't surpass my 6 year mark.

I was scared, I just had a beautiful baby girl, I can't mother accordingly, they had us arrange for Red Cross to come and help with the household chores, as my EF rate was 33%- they wanted me to relax, feet up, no heavy lifting.  Over time with tests, medication and slowly doing cardio exercise over 3 years, my EF rate is now at 55%- the highest it will ever be they said, and I am now over the 6 year mark, without medications for 3 1/2 years.

I found it frustrating here in Canada, because at a time of need, no-one knew about this diease. The Red Cross and Ottawa Heart Institute didn't want anything to do with it. I soon realized I was on my own. Every day, I cried... I was scared and worried.  I thought and still do.. what will happen to my children.

I'm thankful to God, my husband, parents, sisters and friends for there support and help through this.  Even though things are much better, this is a diease that will haunt you for the rest of your life.  My biggest question is.. Why?

All I know is... My kids are my world !

My Details

  • Date Diagnosed: 01/07/2006
  • Child: 1
  • Initial EF: 33%
  • Current EF: 55%

Story By Sonja Bray

Related Articles

Woke up confused.

I have a hard time finding another story quite like mine no matter how hard I look. I was 26 and pregnant with my second

Help Support my work

Money goes towards my writing, advocacy work, hosting and web development.

Support me

Subscribe to My Heart Sisters

Get the latest posts delivered right to your inbox